

## A great victory for women's work!

In a long-awaited and unequivocal decision, the federal Pay Equity Commissioner has ruled in favour of all the unions that opposed Treasury Board's June 2022 request for multiple pay equity plans.

The pay equity review for 252,000 federal public service workers will have to be carried out by comparing all women-predominant job classifications with all men-predominant classifications, regardless of whether the position is within the same bargaining unit or not.

Originally, Treasury Board had requested authorization from Commissioner Straznicky to divide job classifications into three distinct plans:

- One for Public Service Alliance of Canada;
- One for The Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada;
- One for all other unions and unrepresented employees.

Had it been granted, such an authorization would have limited the comparison of job classifications within each designated plan.

The purpose of the pay equity legislation is to correct the wage gap between those who identify as men and those who identify as women by providing equal pay for work of equal value.

By forcing Treasury Board to create a single pay equity committee, the federal Pay Equity Commissioner has ensured the committee is not limited in its choice of comparator jobs, and may select the most appropriate positions, regardless of its original accreditation.

This is a major victory for the recognition of work performed mainly by those who identify as women, and another step towards closing the wage gap that still persists in Canada's public service.

Dany Richard President and Chair of the Board of Directors ACFO-ACAF

Paul Comeron

Paul Cameron Business Manager IBEW Local 2228

David McNairn President Association of Justice Counsel

Jenn Cau

Jennifer Carr President The Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada

Canalle Aurada

Camille Awada President Canadian Association of Professional Employees

Chris Aylward National President Public Service Alliance of Canada

5 5 4 9 9 9

Kathleen Hippern President CUPE Local 104

Jacqueline Pygiel President Unifor Local 2182